A Few Words of Thanks…

Posted: November 24, 2012 in Prose
Tags:

This Thanksgiving season, I’d like to drop a few words of appreciation to those kind souls that have helped me feel appreciated here on WordPress. I’ve been writing for a long time.  As a writer,  you have people in your life who show an unwavering approval for what you are doing no matter what it may be. God bless them, but this approval is often empty. It stems from the undying loyalty that comes with friends and family. Kind of like a child drawing scribbles on a piece of paper and his/her mother hanging it on the fridge for everyone to see. When I hit the teenage years I just wanted somebody to actually read something that I wrote. The few that did would often reply with a simple, “Oh, that’s really good.” Comments like that would frustrate me even more than them not reading it at all. I’d wonder what they liked about it, if anything. To me it felt like they were just paying me lip service. I’d ask, “What did you like about it? What didn’t you like about it?” “Ah, that one thing…” they’d respond. Then I got into college. I was blessed with a wonderful english professor that adored my work. I wish that I was in a better frame of mind at the time, in order to properly utilize the advice that he gave me. Then trouble came and incarceration soon followed. This was an easy environment to appear intellectual in. All this stuff just got into my head and inflated it. I felt my writing skills needed no work. I thought that my profound writings were worth millions and I just needed the right person to read them and I’d be on my way. That obviously did not happen. Fast forward a few years to the miracle of internet blogging. I’ve tried a few other sites before I landed on WordPress. Three to be exact. I must say that is by far, the best grouping of supportive artists that I’ve ran across. On other sites, I wouldn’t bother myself with reading other people’s blogs, only to be upset that no one was reading mine. I’m an idiot sometimes. What can I say for myself except that writing is a constantly developing process that grows with you over the years. I’m just grateful that I’ve finally found a nurturing home filled with like-minded brothers and sisters. I’ve been so close to giving up the last few years. You guys have given me hope. I love all of you, poets and writers and photographers and musicians and painters and performers. I will fight for your art until my last breath. May you all forever shine…

Comments
  1. luggagelady says:

    Perfectly captured! From one artist to another: may we find magic in the ordinary, support one another in every way we can — and, YES, may we forever shine!!!

Leave a Reply

