Rise pt.2

Posted: December 8, 2012 in Poetry
Tags: , ,

Hear you tell a good story

I guess, forget my memory

…now I remember

Seeing either the back of you

Or the back of your hand

Never a good look at the face

There will be no fair trial for you

The police sketch I’ll trace

I am awake

I can still see the pictures hanging

Feel them looking down on me

The air so clean, so quiet

So deceiving

Hiding horrors while fans just echo

Listening; knowing sleep would be soon

And that room

Never forget that room

I am awake

Remember being strapped down

In a room with no windows

Save for one on the door

Covered by a piece of paper

Blank and taped and

Secured from the other side

A doctor finally came

He had a real colorful tie

I am awake

And the fever that builds and burns

Everything; incinerating

Everything, in its wake

Can not even speak its name

Once exorcised

Its reach is legion

For a mighty foe I have made

Fear will give it reason

I am awake

And the anxiety that crashes from crescendo

Living; running; knowing

Any moment may be the last

Breath breathed freely

And they’re never far behind

But you can’t stop

Like the power of Christ compels you

Better off in the padded room

Nothing but time to think it through

I am awake

The concrete madness

Of thieves and rapists and murderers

And a guy that tried

To staple children to the floor

A wonderland where everyone is a maestro;

A virtuoso; connoisseur of the cuisine

Friendships reduced to potato chips

Where all there is, is a dream

I am awake

Damn… it’s gotten so hot down here

Time to take a dive and try to live

And to think it is so simple

Getting what you give

Forgiveness had me riddled

Tear it down for everyone’s sake

We all will give

What we all will take

I am awake

Cursed with words as we descend

But now I am awake

And by these words we shall ascend

For now I am awake

Leave a Reply

