Rain Won/t Stop Following Me

Posted: December 31, 2012 in Poetry, Prose
Tags: , , ,

Was walkin’ in the cold the other day.

An old man came from between the buildings.

I thought he was about to ask for change.

Oh, the horror…

He was holding a real fancy box made of wood.

It had some interesting carvings.

I was going to throw my bike at him and make a run for it.

But he said something even more intriguing than the carvings

He told me he knew a secret.

He told me he could teach me this secret.

And,

it was up to me whether or not I learned this secret.

But,

if I knew this secret I would never know peace.

I couldn’t stop staring DOWN at the little box.

I didn’t notice all the flies.

I was transfixed.

Curiosity got the better of me.

Some of us need less convincing than others.

http://zenspeaknine.com/

Leave a Reply

