These Goths…

With their designer clothes.

Designed to look non/designer.

& their mascara running.

Is not America Satanic enough?

I bear scars.

Saw infected arms.

Heard store alarms.

I/ve known tricks

that sell their souls real quick

for a bag to get off sick.

A land where your existence

is measured and weighed

& factored in as economy.

Do not tell me

about the dark reality.

The hell with Crowley.

You want scary?

Go into the heart of darkness;

the INNER city.

Behind every building,

under every bridge,

in every bathroom stall,

are our cities’ deepest pits.

There the dark sits.

Where are the real Gothic?

Those who burned the body of Percy?

Whose heart was collected

from the ashes of that great funeral fire.

For the human heart

is notorious

for being difficult to burn.

His heart enveloped

by his poem Adonais.

Words which cemented

Keats’s legacy.

Those magnificent lights that never stay with us.

Where are the:

Blakes and

Keats and

Byrons and

Clares and

Shelleys and

Coleridges and

Wordsworths now?

Who will light the pyre for America?

For she IS dying…

Who here will burn their hand taking her heart from the embers of the fire?

Who will wrap her heart in the already*blood*soaked constitution?

That shining poem…

Written as testimony to those that came before us:

That we were here.

That we saw truth.

That we would crawl from underneath

the tyranny of aristocracy.

Never again living on our knees.

That shining moment…

When we still believed.

Before this dark wind of apathy

swept over the streets of our cities.

Now is the time…

We can finally breathe.

For us to speak.

For us to dream.

Now is the time…

We learn to live again.

 

 

 

http://zenspeaknine.com/

Comments
    • I know. This is one of my favorites, yet is the one least responded to. I don’t get it. I’ll put my heart in something and it falls flat then I’ll do something really simple in simple verse and it will blow up. Thank you. You haven’t put anything new up for a couple. I’ve been watching out for you.

  1. haydendlinder says:

    Looks like I’m showing up late but I like this one. And I normally don’t dig poetry so that is saying something. You made a comment in your reply to Blue, about your simple ones getting more acclaim. This is pretty common for any art actually. Sometimes simple conveys better or maybe people are stupid, I don’t know. But I know many of Mozart’s best peaces were his simpler ones.

Leave a Reply

