Welcome to Youngstown, Ohio Kidz

Posted: January 7, 2013 in Poetry
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I had a dream

More like a nightmare

I was walking down a

Lights-out road let/s

Just say Parkview street

A police car drove by

Knew what would come

Next so I threw the

Fire & waited; the brake

Lights came on &

the car hit reverse

& next thing I knew I

Ran for my life

& I was panting,

Jumping over fences

An abandoned

House came into view

Its broken window made

A nice entrance

I huddled in an

Empty corner while more

Cops arrived on

The scene getting REAL

Close; patrolling; creeping

Through yellow yards

It was a matter

Of time; damn, why the hell

Did I run; flee

The scene; though there was

No scene from which to flee

A felony

So I waded out

Before they found me; tried

Apology

They drug me back to

The street; smacked my head off

The hood; chipped teeth

Tombstones buried in

Pink soil; thanks Gunslinger

These guys must think

That they/re king; then my

Friend drives by & parks down

The road & starts

To record with his

Phone camera this now

Turned travesty

They arrest him &

He/s charged with obstructing

Next we/re sitting

In county; cop comes

Up & asks me, “Why did

I run?” I tell

Him, “Cops freak me out

& scare me.” He says, “There/s

No worry if

I/d done no wrong.” I

Smile through my bloodied teeth

 

 

 

http://zenspeaknine.com/

Leave a Reply

