Ok, oookay…

How about this for a halftime show:

We fly in a bunch of starving kids from Indonesia & Ethiopia–wait… Scratch that, we got enough starving kids right here.

How about we fly in a bunch of kids from all around the States, line /em up at one end of the field, then line all the filthy-mega-rich athletes at the other end with tables stacked sky-high with Papa John/s pizzas & when Beyoncé says go, the team that gets the most pizzas to the most starving kids wins & the team that loses has to melt down all their gold jewelery & relinquish their big conflict diamonds & buy a big Subway sandwich that/d stretch all around the world so every starving kid everywhere could take a bite?

Come on people Jesus would love this idea.

You remember that guy right?

The guy a lot of you say that you follow. The guy that despised the worship of material wealth & hung out with the poor. The guy that risked life & limb to turn over the money tables in the temple.

Imagine if you took all the football players/ salaries;

all the money paid into promo spots; the slick productions of all the slick commercials; wrapped it in a big ball & threw it at something that really mattered; imagine all the people really giving a shit about each other…

Just imagine…

Not that professional sports & entertainment don/t have value. Not that people don/t deserve to get paid. But this is getting insane. Hundreds of millions of dollars spent; billions of dollars generated. It/s like sitting on the floor, looking up at a table of people feasting, grease-soaked lips, crumbs of food dropping from the corners of their mouths, & they/re all laughing at you.

Laughing at how hungry we are.

That isn/t even the crazy part.

The crazy part is, here we are applauding them, worshipping them, telling them how great they are, telling everyone you know how great they are, & when you finally get a scrap, you offer it back to them.

Dream big.

The United States of America was created to get away from this entitlement-aristocracy-royalty crap. What the hell happened? We could change things if we really wanted. They need our participation for this kind of commercial enterprise to work. People are really suffering in the real world. This is not reality. It/s definitely not my reality & if you are still reading this, it/s probably not your reality.

Man, I/m losing it…

“If everyone demanded peace instead of another television set, there/d be peace.” John Lennon

http://zenspeaknine.com/

Comments
  1. sethsnap says:

    I get you and I tend to agree with you. I love college sports. I don’t care for the pro. But, I have to say I’ve shelled out some $$$ to see the college kids play. And of course that goes somewhere too. But, there are many athletes who do wonderful things and have doors opened for them to do great things that would otherwise be locked.

    • Indeed. A lot of what I do is satire, a little shock, that is where the whole zenspeak comes from, speak your mind, but often you wind up with your foot stuck in it! Big fan of the Gonzo style as you can probably infer. I just try & shake up things up to get people out the box. My prob is more the commercial glitz crap. The Fast & Furious preview is what really sent me over the edge. I hate those movies. I know I come off brash, but really I got love for all no matter race, belief, sexual orientation whatever. The only side I stay vehemently opposed to is those that hurt children. & you/re right, a lot of athletes come from wounded backrounds & go back & do some extraordinary work in the community. Although I do got a first hand account about Lebron when I was in a halfway house in Akron that/ll blow your hair back, but another time. Once again I got to thank you bud, everyone I showed the first print to loves the pic, its silence speaks volumes, the trespass sign, the little U.S. pic on the one side, if I/d used a generic cover, well lets just say there/d be no flare. But I/m not going to go on, you know I think you/re the cat/s meow. All luv & peace on your journey. Talk to you soon.

  2. haha I/ve been called a lot worse buddy

  3. You agree with flipping the pic? I need the action on the front, plus I think the bcakwards thing kind of matches my style

Leave a Reply

