Black-Tar Heroine

Posted: February 22, 2013 in Poetry
Tags: , , , , , ,

Many try

To pick the locks she lay

& though I seem lost

I follow signs to lose my way

I believe there exists a key

To a dead bolt so complex

Never cease

Hence, the desperate attempts

Becoming a figment of forever

Reduced to ashes

A never say never

An odd feather on the phoenix

There was a time I’d die

For my dark queen

Of dismally dying suns

Her obsequious servants

Are like collapsing stars

Imploding gravity of lives

Her physiology generating

A scent so intoxicating

No thought of depth of descent

Give this devil her due

For we know her ends

Yet, we suffer her abuse

How many times

Must we prepare ourselves to die

Change our self like an accent?

Heavy & alone

Upon ascent

A sad sack of flesh & bone

Maybe there will be a day

When this forgetful world remembers me

After leaving me for dead

Before washing me out in the cold sea

& as for the now I say

The journey begins & ends back home

Don’t regret the words I’ve said

Every one recorded in my black tome

Time thaws time’s trivial tears

Spring/s the season to reap the harvest sown

I always felt the growing pangs

But I slowly learned & I’m under grown

Somehow, someway, someday is near

& something blessed me to barely breath

& bars snapped & things didn’t seem so strange

But it’s my home & I’m scared to leave

Stop breathing air so she

Will be unable to catch breath

Stay strong while she’s dying

& pray for her silent death

While begging for your life

Sitting alone

With just the tick-tock

Thoughts & bones

& the doors I lock

Just send me away

Back to the white sands

Just give me one day

A day in my own hands

They got so much to say

Policed like a road block

Head will one day lay

On greener lands

Tired of the concrete

Weighing heavy

Upon my feet

The cracks in the street

Their steady drum beat

You see;

I got this disease,

Of being hungry,

Of living;

If you call living,

On your knees

I want it all

All to burn

& I wont be happy

Till I get my turn

Burn out the retinas

Of my shifty eyes

So I can recognize

So I finally realize

The weakness of these lies

This pathologically contagious disease

Rise, rise

Phoenix burn

Rise, rise

From your scarred knees

©Carl Paul Henneman

http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/deadBEATpoetry

http://zenspeaknine.com/

Comments
  1. Powerful and well written!

Leave a Reply

