This Thing About The Dark

Posted: May 27, 2013 in Poetry, Prose, Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

After getting the old,

You’re a really good writer. It’s just, your stuff is too dark. When are you going to write something happy?

for the millionth time, I decided to address this preoccupation with sadness.

I never had the words to articulate what I was trying to do as an artist, until I ran across an Aldous Huxley interview on YouTube. He was talking about how a person psychologically broken-down is in their most vulnerable state of suggestion and could therefore be more susceptible to having a new paradigm placed into their head.

Wow. Some inception shit.

So this got me thinking about drug addicts.

Stuff like:

How people fall so hard into AA/NA (good or bad).

Addicts that reintegrate back into society are doomed to some type of medical/psychological treatment for the rest of their lives.

The system is failing them. Rehabs and prisons are profiting from their agendas.

They are being given a false paradigm.

I stand at the bottom of this dark pit for a reason.

When my people hit the ground, the first face I want them to see is a friendly one.

Ya/ follow me?

Comments
  1. nancylongago says:

    I love your train of thought here.
    It’s actually close to what I thought when I decided to study psychology, having had my own fair share of deep dark and twisty thoughts in adolescence (some of which still haven’t completely disappeared). I thought, those “clean” shrinks and counselors will never get it, not really. I want people, like I was, to have a friendly face to hear them out, like you said.

  2. Nothing wrong with writing about the dark and sounds to me like you are looking up at the Light 🙂

  3. Ellen says:

    Your work connects with even perpetually Pollyanna-ish me (today IS gonna be another great day!) because we all have that darkness in our soul if we come clean and can be fearlessly honest about it. I may not have your exact experience, however I can relate to feelings of being overwhelmed, unsure, lost. I want to hear the confessions by others of their humanity – and yes, I want to hear of the Phoenix rising from the ashes, too. Because many experiences are both “good” and “bad” and I want to be dipped into and swirled around in the entirety. To be immersed in the experience yet not wallowing in it because deep down it’s a fight, it’s a struggle sometimes but I celebrate and embrace that fighting spirit. And I feel it in your poetry/prose.

Leave a Reply

