To Rise From Sacred Ground /2012/

Posted: June 11, 2013 in Poetry
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Heard you tell a good story

I guess, forget my memory

…now I remember

Seeing either the back of you

Or the back of your hand

Never a good look at the face

There will be no fair trial for you

The police sketch I’ll trace

I am awake

I can still see the pictures hanging

Feel them looking down on me

The air so clean, so quiet

So simply deceiving

Hiding horrors while fans just echo

Listening; knowing sleep would be soon

& that stale room

Never forget that room

I am awake

Remember being strapped down

In a room with no windows

Other than the one on the door

Covered with a piece of paper

Blank & taped &

Secured from the other side

A doctor finally came

He had a real colorful tie

I am awake

& the fever that builds & burns

Everything; incinerating

Everything, in its wake

Can not even speak its name

Once exorcised

Its reach is legion

For a mighty foe I have made

Fear will give it reason

I am awake

& the anxiety that crashes from crescendo

Living, running, knowing

Any moment may be the last

Breath breathed freely

& the streets are never far behind

But you can’t stop

Like the power of Christ compels you

Better off in the padded room

Nothing but time to think it through

I am awake

The concrete madness

Of thieves & rapists & murderers

& a guy that tried

To staple children to the floor

A horror show where everyone is a maestro;

A virtuoso; connoisseur of the cuisine

Friendships reduced to potato chips

Where all there is, is a dream

I am awake

& those sad faces we lost

Forever slipped through the sands of time

& to think it was all so simple

You just get what you give

Bodies demised, bruised & riddled

Now memories in sacristies

Never to fully live

Only here to take

But now we are awake…

Leave a Reply

