Setting Fires

Posted: October 21, 2013 in Poetry, Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

She dances
on fences

while 
he hopes

she/ll fall
so
he can catch her
play hero
none the less
she never fell
she never falls
in front of others
before lovers
he doesn’t care
who she was
as long as she was
with him
loves her like
yesterday
as he does
today
if not
tomorrow
love can save
what it doesn/t
kill first
smiles and bruises
sometimes she wins
sometimes he loses
full contact hurts
though
she smells of clover
while he bleeds
crimson
over and over.

Comments
  1. Even to the end, I’m still digesting “She dances a fence.” Hmmm….it’s a complex image that I’m still processing. And I think that’s a good thing. 🙂

  2. Correction: the poem is interesting anyway, but I was particularly interested in the prep. misuse. I realize the last comment may sound like I’m dissing the remainder of the poem, which I’m not.

    • no, I’m glad you brought it to my attention, I have to stop rushing my work, I don’t take WP seriously and it shows in my work, I opened a blog so I could experiment with what would work, I usually throw an idea up there, see how it goes over and if it does well I’ll rewrite it and send it off somewhere, this one definitely merits another go, and it is ok, I learned a long time my stuff well not ring true for everyone, I need a cult following, I just never have time, either rushing to go to work or someone is picking me up or my mom needs something, sometimes I wish they’d just lock me up again so I could have time for myself, it was the best writing I’ve ever accomplished, anyway, it made me notice the opening line was too long too, thank you, your input is always appreciated, if not followed

      • I struggle to find time, too, often. It was much worse when I went to college, and will be again when I go for another degree next fall! Oftentimes, I just waste time doing things that are not actually important. I hate doing that. Or oversleeping. I hate that more.

        If you don’t mind me asking, why and how long were you ‘locked up’? If you aren’t comfortable responding, I will be understanding.

      • opiate residue, 18 months, but a bunch of little time for petty crimes too

  3. URL says:

    … [Trackback]

    […] Find More Informations here: zenspeaknine.wordpress.com/2013/10/21/setting-fires/ […]

Leave a Reply

