Black-Tar Heroine

Posted: March 27, 2014 in Poetry
Tags:

 

Many try to
pick locks she lay

though I seem lost

follow signs to
lose the way

I believe there exists
keys to the dead
bolts so complex.

Never cease these
desperate attempts

figments of forever

reduced to ashes

a never say never

an odd feather
from a phoenix.

There was a time
I would die

for my dark queen

of dismally dying suns

obsequious servants

like collapsing stars

an imploding gravity
wasting lives
ruining love.

Physiology generating

her scent intoxicating

no thought of depth
of descent give
this devil her due

we know her ends

yet suffer her abuse

How many times

must we prepare
ourselves to die

changing self
shedding skin

heavy
alone

upon ascent

a sad sack
of flesh & bone.

Maybe there will be
a day this forgetful
world remembers me

after leaving me
for dead before
washing me
out in the cold sea.

As for the now
it will seam

my journey begins
ends back home

don/t regret the words
I/ve said every one
recorded in a black tome.

Time thaws time’s
trivial tears

spring/s the season
we reap what we
already sown

I felt the growing
pains I slowly learned
I/m under grown
for the world.

Somehow-someway
someday came near

something blessed me
to help me breathe

one day the
bars snapped things
didn/t seem so strange

but it was my home
I was scared to leave.

Stop breathing air
so she will be
unable to catch
breath stay strong
while she/s dying

here we pray
for silent death

while we beg
for our lives.

;

SO we sit
alone

just the tick-tock

thoughts & bones

behind doors I lock

send me away

to the white sands

give me one day

my life in my hands

they got a lot
to say policed
like a road block

hoping our heads
will one day lay

on greener lands

tired of concrete

that weighs heavy

upon feet

cracks in the street

creating steady
drum beats.

YOU SEE

there becomes disease

from being hungry

from living

if it/s call living

when on our knees

want it all

all to burn

I won/t be happy

till I get my turn

burnt out retinas

shifty eyes

only then
recognize

finally
realize

the weakness
of these lies.

Rise, rise

phoenix burn.

Rise, rise

from your scarred knees.

Leave a Reply

